August 6 Update!

I'm starting school activities again this upcoming week, so updates are going to be slow! Thanks for your understanding!


RIP MY INSTANTPOT

August 5, 2023

The vaporized plastic sent me into a coughing fit and was probably super poisonous

Today's been a nice and relaxing Saturday, my partner and I went to the local farmer's market and got some produce, we cut open a watermelon to snack on, and started to make boiled peanuts! Only the last thing DIDN'T happen because our instantpot® melted*! What instead happened was us setting the instantpot® on the stovetop since there's a nearby plug and we plugged it in! We thought that was the end of it and began to prepare the peanuts. We turned back around and noticed an awful smell and SMOKE COMING OUT OF THE POT.

Turns out when we plugged it in, we bumped the stovetop control and turned on the burner that the pot was sitting on. Cue us ripping the pot off the stove top now covered in melted plastic. It was scary, especially with the smoke being probably toxic... We ended up being able to air out the apartment and lit a candle to compensate for the awful smell. Moral of the story? Idk watch where your hands go lol.

Now, we must mourn him. He was a good instantpot® A brave soul some may say. My mom gave him to me since he sat idle on her shelf. He was good to me when our oven broke for a week, great for chili, spaghetti, and boiled peanuts. He may be gone, but not forgotten for we are already looking for a new one at this very minute.** May he rest in piece.✿

EDIT: JUST FOUND OUT INSTANTPOT® FILED FOR BANKRUPTCY A YEAR OR TWO AGO DAMN

NOTE:

*This was not a malfunction of the pot itself, it was our own damn fault

**We are not sponsored by instantpot® but could you imagine? I'd shill for them to be honest


Barbie Movie Time!

July 28, 2023

My friends and I finally saw the Barbie movie! It was surprisingly good, and I'd for sure watch it again. We all dressed up, I tried to dress up like Barbie, being a blonde myself, but my wardrobe screams more "Alan" if you get my drift. Anyways, I rocked some cute shorts and and sandals with a matching bright hawaiian shirt and it was great. Did I cry? Maybe so !!! I loved almost every second of it though! I will say my biggest complaint was when they basically looked straight at the camera and went "It's hard being a woman!" like no shit!! I will say the fun easily overtook that moment, not to mention we were pretty buzzed when we saw it. My partner snuck each of us a pint of Pink Whitney into the theater which WOO I forgot how wild (bad) they tasted but by god it was pink!!!

What can I say, watching the movie buzzed was a wonderful experience, I can't reccomend it enough. BE RESPONSIBLE if you do drink and watch it, and never drive drunk or under the influence!!! My friend who wasn't even a barbie girl as a kid (she was more of a bratz connoisseur) loved it too, she never laughed so hard in a long time.

Now the question that so many people are asking is "Anna! You're a movie person! Will you be seeing the Oppenheimer movie to complete the Barbenheimer experience? My answer to that question is "No!" Sorry! I had to drive 2 hours to the movie theater to see this since there's no movie theaters in the town I live in, and Oppenheimer seems just too depressing to me. Not only that, I think Christopher Nolan is pretty overrated for what he makes. I'm not saying he's a bad director, but it's just very dude bro, so, pass. Anyways! Go watch the movie! Or don't! Live your life!! I need to watch the new season of Good Omens now! Tata for now! ✿

Ryan Gosling as Ken? SWOON

First Post: Cooking!

July 13th, 2023

The other night, my partner and I fried enoki mushrooms! It wass our first time ever trying enoki, so we were pretty excited. Despite being Southern, I never really fried anything ever, but that mostly relates to the type of household I grew up in. ANYWAYS, we bought a pack of mushrooms at our local Asian market ($5!!!) and got to work! I started by washing and cutting the roots of the mushrooms

Look at these guys!

After cutting off the roots and washing them, we then grabbed our spices to put in our wheat flower based breading. I don't remember what spices I use because I measure with my heart. I almost always use garlic and onion in everything I cook along with msg so you can expect that out of me 😌. I remember using salt and pepper, chili powder, curry powder, other stuff too, I just black out and suddenly everything is seasoned to perfection (for me! a white girl). I might make a post later showing my seasoning essentials, but that may not be too interesting. Who knows! Anyways, I scrambled some eggs, and did the standard breading process before throwing them in some boiling oil.

Just saying that shit HURTS! The oil popped me a bunch because I probably had the temperature too high, go figure. Anyways, we just kinda popped them in fryer and fried them for a few minutes before flipping them over and rinse and repeat. I made the newbie mistake of using plastic-tipped tongs which melted in the oil!!! D: (pro-tip: please dear god don't use plastic in frying. I had to throw away some fried mushrooms because of melted plastic stuck to the food (;-;) ) I also could just be really stupid, who knows.

After frying them, my partner had the great idea of making some dipping sauces for the mushrooms! This is where I started to get a litle ambitious. Since the mushrooms were super savory and had a great umami flavor, I decided I was gonna make a spicy garlic and honey dipping sauce to pair nicely with it. Did I end up doing that? NOPE! Instead I went the lazy white girl route and dipped it in kewpie mayo. My partner had the great idea of mixing the kewpie with some soy sauce! I put it in the fridge to thicken the mixture and it was SO GOOD. Maybe I'll make the spicy garlic sauce next time if I want to spend five bucks on nothing but mushrooms.

For those who may want the recipe, unfortunately I can't give one because when I cook, I tend to make it up as I go. I will follow recipes for more complex dishes, but I tend to understand gists when I try to cook food. Baking, however, you measure everything to an exact and throw in a prayer for good measure, and MAYBE it'll turn out okay. For cooking, you measure with your heart, and make sure not to add too much salt because you can always add it later. Looking back at the pictures, everything looks good, but the enoki mushrooms look like fried chicken, which I'm not saying is a bad thing! I'd for sure make this again, if it weren't too expensive. The mushrooms were SO EXPENSIVE!!! I wish I could find somewhere cheaper to find enoki mushrooms, but unfortunately there's no asian markets literally within a 100 mile radius where I live. I also want to support small business, so I'd prefer not to order online either. Oh well. Overall, I'd highly reccomend enoki mushrooms, even if you don't like mushrooms! They have such a unique an fresh flavor and texture unlike any other mushrooms I've ever eaten. 10/10! ✿

That shit was SCRUMPTIOUS